Background and Objective:

The participation in sports of the persons with Intellectual Disabilities (ID) has become popular in the decade. Many of them have gained victory and recognitions in local and overseas competitions. It proves that people with ID are able to unleash their talents in sports and enjoy the quality life when opportunities are available.

As Tung Wah Group of Hospitals has organized the running event of “iRun” – Hong Kong Special Marathon since 2011, it aims at encouraging the proactive sport participation among the people with ID. Throughout the event and the practices, the participants and the communities can build mutual understanding. The meaning of community inclusion has been further realized.

Organized by TWGHs with generous support from The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, the TWGHs “iRun” – The Hong Kong Jockey Club Special Marathon 2018 (the Event) has been held successfully. Over 3,930 athletes with ID and pair-up runners participated in the event. More events have been established since last year in order to realize the concept of inclusion, that are “Overseas Race Event”, “Inclusion in School” Programme, and “i-d Art” Online Crowdfunding. Moreover, “Green Marathon” elements have been applied in the Event, so as to promote environmental caring messages.

TWGHs “iRun” – The Hong Kong Jockey Club Special Marathon 2019 will continue to promote the concept of inclusion in the community through the running races to be held in the urban area. The event will be categorized in “Challenge Group” and “iRun Group”. The “Challenge Group” will be divided in age groups and gender groups, which will be more challenging. The Event has been promoted to neighbouring regions, such as Macau, "Greater Bay Area" and Chiayi City, Taiwan, etc. The athletes form these regions were invited to join hands to RUN FOR INCLUSION.

Event information

Date: 13th January 2019 Sunday

Time: 10 A.M.

Race course: Central and Western District Promenade (Central Section) and Lung Wo Road

Website: http://i-run.tungwahcsd.org/

背景和目標:

隨著運動普及,近年智障人士也積極參與體育運動,當中更在本地及國際賽中屢獲殊榮,證明只要有機會,智障人士同樣可發揮無限潛能,享受自主優質生活。

東華三院自2011年開始,致力舉辦每年一度的「奔向共融」-香港特殊馬拉松長跑比賽,藉此鼓勵智障人士積極參與體育運動。參賽者享受長跑比賽之餘,並可夥拍社會各階層健全人士一起參與,透過伴跑練習和交流,加深社會各階層對他們的了解,拉近彼此間的距離,更進一步體現傷健共融的意義。

去年東華三院「奔向共融」-香港賽馬會特殊馬拉松2018繼續得到香港賽馬會慈善信託基金鼎力贊助,參加人數再創新高,逾3930名智障運動員及伴跑員參加。而且,去年比賽更增設「海外賽事」、「與校共融」計劃,及「愛不同藝術 (i-d Art)」網上眾籌項目,多元地體現「傷健共融」理念。再者,去年也推行「綠色馬拉松」,傳播正面的環保訊息。

今年,東華三院「奔向共融」-香港賽馬會特殊馬拉松2019繼續推廣傷健共融理念,於熱鬧的市區舉行賽事,實踐「融入社區」的意義。賽事分為「挑戰盃」及「共融跑」,「挑戰盃」更按年齡及性別劃分組別,使比賽更具挑戰性及趣味。本賽事近年推廣至澳門、大灣區及台灣嘉義等地區,邀請健兒一同參與賽事,繼續為「傷健共融」和「身心健康」的目標努力。

賽事資料:

日期: 2019年1月13日(星期日)

時間: 上午10時

地點: 中西區海濱長廊(中環段)及龍和道

網址: http://i-run.tungwahcsd.org/